One-Act Play

2022 One Act students on stage


The 2021-22 One-Act Cast and Crew presented Always Bella, by Kendra Thomas. This is a lighthearted teen drama about the values of compassion and virtue that tackles the issues of bullying and friendship. On January 25 the cast and crew performed in the South Dakota Region 3B One-Act Competition in Madison, South Dakota and were selected as one of two schools from the region to move on to the State Competition. This is the first time a Marion One-Act ensemble has been chosen for State Competition. Four students received outstanding actor awards: Alexa Gortmaker, Ally Bethke, José Lastra, and Emma McConniel. The State Festival Competition was held at Rapid City Central High School on February 3-5, 2022. Although they did not receive an all-around superior, the cast was able to perform in a large, beautiful theater with a receptive audience. Alexa Gortmaker received an all-around individual super for her acting.

Students participating in Always Bella were seniors Allie Bethke, Dylan Johansen and Donté Butler, juniors Leah Goodwin, Alex Larsen, Skylar Hopkins and Molli Davis, sophomores Alexa Gortmaker, Isabelle McConniel, Hadley Luke, José Lastra and Lester Richards-Hanson, freshman Emma McConniel, and seventh grader Hailey Reutter. Marion's One-Act was under the direction of Marion High School English teacher Sarah Schanzenbach, assisted by Nicolle Timmerman.

State Festival Cast and Crew
Announcer - Alex Larsen
Katie - Emma McConniel
Bella - Alexa Gortmaker
Robin - Leah Goodwin
Lynn - Hadley Luke
Ashanti - Hailey Reutter
Ava - Isabelle McConniel
Mia - Ally Bethke
Rob - José Gonzalez
Principal - Skylar Hopkins
Bart - Skylar Hopkins

Lights - Lester Richards-Hanson
Lights - Alex Larsen